Happy Halloween!! Prior to sending your little ghouls and goblins out for trick-or-treating you will most likely have a safety talk with them about your own Halloween safety laws:
- Stay on the sidewalk!
- Look both ways before you cross the street!
- Stay with your group!
- Be home before dark, and make sure you carry a flashlight!
As a parent, you implement these rules to ensure your child’s safety. Well, did you know that some states and cities, throughout the US have implemented their own laws to keep their citizens safe during Halloween!?
Don’t believe us? Check out these 5 silly Halloween Laws:
5 Silly Halloween Laws Throughout the US
1. Trick or Treating is 6pm-8pm in Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
On Halloween night in Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, kids can only trick-or-treat between the hours 6pm-8pm, If Halloween falls on a Sunday it must be celebrated the night before on Saturday, October 30th.
2. You must be under the age of 12 to Trick or Treat in Belleville, Missouri
High schoolers beware, this county in Missouri has implemented an age restriction! Trick-or-treaters must be under the age of 12 to participate. The law states that no person above the 8th grade can publicly ask for candy… sorry teenagers!
3. No Silly String in Hollywood, California
Hollywood has a strict ban on silly string from October 31st through noon the next day, Nov. 1st. And I wouldn’t take your chances against this law, just carrying a can of Silly String on October 31st in Hollywood could result in a $1,000 fine or up to 6 months of jail time!
4. Mask Restrictions in Dublin, Georgia, and Walnut Creek, California
In Dublin, Georgia residents over the age of 16, cannot wear masks, hoods, or anything else that shields their face and hides their identity in public. This is to cut down on mischief and robberies during the ghoulish holiday.
Walnut Creek, California took the same restriction one step further requiring a permit for anyone over the age of 16 that is looking to wear a mask in public on Halloween.
5. No Clergy Costumes in Alabama
You won’t find any priest or nun costumes in Alabama. Dressing up as the clergy is strictly forbidden and can result in up to a year in jail or a $500 fine!
Luckily in Wisconsin, we have no set laws regarding Halloween. Yes, your village may enforce a trick-or-treating day or time but like the above, it is mainly for the safety and convenience of its citizens.
From all of us at Gerbers Law, we wish you and your family a SAFE and Happy Halloween!!!